SOLVED

Power Query - Retaining Explorer Column Headings from a 'Music' folder file extraction

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I am relatively new to Power Query and seem to be doing OK, but at the moment I have hit a huge hurdle which is stumping me. Any assistance would be hugely appreciated.

Currently, I have hundreds of folders with thousands of individual music album tracks that I would like to extract the file information from into Excel.

At the moment I have set up each folder within Windows Explorer as a music folder to show filename, Track no., Track Title, Contributing Artist, Album, and Length as below...

Harveyworld_0-1655770492638.png

However, when I run a power query on a particular music folder, I notice that I am unable to retain the specified file explorer column headings and these default to those as shown below...

These revert to Filename, Extension, Date Accessed, Modified, created and Folder Path which I don't need.

Harveyworld_1-1655770492644.png

Is there anything I can do so that when I run a power query task on a music folder it will retain the full default named columns of each music file within that folder as shown in the first image above and not those that appear in the second image? 

I am wanting to pull together a full list of every music file from every compilation CD that I have in one huge list/table and to be able to automate this task would be absolutely fantastic.

Hopefully, its just an easy fix and I am missing something obvious.

Many Thanks

3 Replies