Linking Workbooks Automatically & Macro To Share With Clients

Copper Contributor

I am hoping for some super Excel Jedi to help me out. What I am doing is beyond my capabilities, especially being that I am a beginner in excel and barely understand scripting.

My company has many clients. We want to send out a weekly update through some excel template. The idea was that in one workbook we have many tabs each dedicated to a client. We wanted to be able to share that client tab with that client without giving them access to the entire workbook. Essentially we wanted to share their one tab, and nothing else.

This is what I've come up with, but need assistance in getting it going.

I've figured that I can create a client workbook for every client and put it in their respective folder. This client workbook will be linked to a master project workbook that we update. The master project workbook is in a main folder where it is more accessible. When the client workbook has been updated through its source material, we share it with that specific client.

Example: I open master workbook, go to Client A tab, change the data in the cells and that information automatically updates on their respective client workbook that is in their own folder. Then I share client A's workbook with the client. 
Client A then receives an email with a share link to their excel spreadsheet that is read only.

That is the main goal.

The issues I am having are:

1) I need to figure out a functional formula that links the data from the Master project workbook to the clients. I've used the "=" function in the clients cells and then selected the Master cells and hit enter so that it links it, but this seems temporary as I opened the files today and they no long have that function so they aren't updating linked data from the Master workbook.