LAMBDA example: Cubic Spline Interpolation & Extrapolation

Copper Contributor

I recently wrote about this on my blog, and thought it could be valuable to some folks here:

Link to my blog post 

The demo file is also available on GitHub and OneDrive; see the links in my post.

4 Replies
Hi, thx for sharing. I skimmed through and it looks great. I'm sorry you didn't get the advanced formula environment working but I've been using it for many months and it is great, especially when working with LAMBDA functions.
My only comment I wanted to add is a cautionary comment regarding IFS in particular. As was pointed out to my in a prior post I made, IFS is a FUNCTION and not an OPERATOR. By that I mean there is a big difference between
=IF(A1>1, VeryComplicatedFunction, "no calculation done")
=IFS(A1>1, VeryComplicatedFunction, TRUE, "no calculation done")
because the IF (as long as you don't have arrays being addressed) will act as an OPERATOR and in the above case if A1<=1 it will NOT perform the VeryComplicatedFunction. The IFS on the other hand WILL always perform the VeryComplicatedFunction (i.e. calculate all the arguments) and pass them into the IFS function for evaluation.
This got me because I had a very complicated function that only needed to be done a very small percent of the cases and some easy calculations the other times. I used IFS thinking I was saving processor time to do the simple calculations most of the time but in fact was still doing the complicated formula all of the time PLUS the simple formulas. You can think of calculating speed and including relativity in case you close to speed of light. most of the time you only need newtonian distance over time but once in a while you need to account for relativity. In a case like this you want to use IF() even if that means IF(....IF(...IF(...
NOTE: this does not work if you are doing array calculations as then even the IF() will perform all the argument calculations.