SOLVED

How do I find the median of a selected column of values within a worksheet

Copper Contributor

I have a worksheet that has a column of ID names. There are various numbers of line items with the same ID names.  I need to find the median of all values that share an ID name.  I know this should be simple, but I'm not a programmer and I don't think I could piece this together using online help.

10 Replies
best response confirmed by lodonnellma (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@lodonnellma 

Is it possible for you to upload a sample (devoid of actual names or other confidential info)? Otherwise, all you'll get is very general and it sounds very much like you would appreciate specific help.

Yes, I can do that. I need to get the de-identified dataset. I'll get that now.

@mathetes 

Here is a sample with some simple formulas I put in for illustration of what I'm trying to do. There are two tabs.  On the first tab (Differences within ID) there's a formula to calculate the differences for each line item, and a formula to calculate the median of the differences. Difference1 and Difference2 are independent of each other.  On the second tab (MedianDifferencesPerID). I just copied the median values 1 & 2 for each ID.  Finally, (I didn't mention this in my first post), I need to determine if any of the differences within an ID are outside of the range of the median value +/- 100,000.  Still interested in helping?  :)  Thanks!

@lodonnellma  this was fun.  here is a formula I used to calculate the conditional median:

=AVERAGE(AGGREGATE(14,6,F:F/(--($A:$A=$A2)),ROUNDUP((COUNTIF($A:$A,$A2)+1)/2,0)),AGGREGATE(14,6,F:F/(--($A:$A=$A2)),ROUNDDOWN((COUNTIF($A:$A,$A2)+1)/2,0)))

paste that in cell H2 and fill down and fill right into col I

But it will fill every cell with the corresponding value.  I could add an additional condition if you only want the 1st row for that Id to show the median.

That said sheet 2 can use the same basic formula: