How do I disable the CTRL Find feature within a workbook.

Copper Contributor

I am producing records within a workbook that are HIPAA protected.  Thus, we have to redact our workbook.  However, if you use the feature CTRL find it will still go to that cell that was redacted.  We need to disable and protect the workbook to be HIPAA compliant.  Any suggestions on how I should do this?  All I need is to disable this function, then protect the workbook so no one can change, alter or use search features.  Let me know the best way to do this.  Thanks for your help! 

4 Replies
I am curious what you mean by not HIPAA compliant. What regulation/rule are you basing that on? I'm no expert so I ask because my understanding is that HIPAA is about risk mitigation not risk removal. By that I mean you need to do best efforts to minimize potential HIPAA exposure. So anyone with access to that spreadsheet better be an employee with HIPAA access permissions and trained in proper usage and non-usage. So if you have your sheet locked down and they have to enter xyz code to say who they are and then select records they have permission to look at, that is all great but Excel is NOT high encryption secure so you are still relying on them to not circumvent intended measures put in place to prevent accidental exposure.
That all said, I don't know that you can block the built in FIND function however, you can bury the data onto hidden sheets so they can't find it. For example I have a training matrix workbook i created where the fully matrix of all the data is on a hidden sheet. I then have a "login" sheet where they enter their credentials. If the credentials match credentials on another hidden sheet then yet another hidden sheet pulls the corresponding data for that person. Finally a visible sheet pulls all the data from that last hidden sheet to display to the user. I would NOT consider this high security but more like those tiny locks you put on luggage to keep the honest people out. :)