SOLVED

Hovering Over Notes No Longer Working

Brass Contributor

Sometime over the past week or so, none of my Excel 365 Notes will display when I hover my mouse over a cell with a Note.  This issue occurs in every workbook I open or create.  My guess is that it's due to one of my recent updates for the Office Insider program.  Please advise.

22 Replies

@Steve1330 

What are your settings here?

image.png

Yes, I have the second option checked like I always have. I have made no option changes whatsoever over the past weeks. This is clearly a result of either a recent MS 365 or Windows 10 update. This is not due to user changes, believe me. I've been working with these programs for 25 years and know an update-caused issue from a user-caused issue.

best response confirmed by Steve1330 (Brass Contributor)
Solution

@Steve1330 

You are right, it doesn't work on

image.png

Works with comments.

I sent a frown, that will be great if you do the same.

Sergei:

Thanks for confirming it's not just me. I'd be happy to send a note to MS, who I'm assuming that's who you said you sent your frown to. Where do I do that? I already reported the issue yesterday via Help-Contact Support, but the person who came on the chat did not inspire a lot of confidence in me that they would have a clue how to help.  That's why I then posted the issue here yesterday.

Steve

@Steve1330 

Steve, that's on ribbon

Help->Feedback->I don't like something

Don't expect an answer, but Microsoft monitors such feedbacks. More of them more chances it'll be fixed faster.

Sergei:

Thanks. Just sent my above issue description to MS and asked them to fix ASAP. I appreciate your very quick review and replies to my posted issue, as you've always done previously as well. Take care.

Steve

@Steve1330I just installed latest update and issue still exists.  See image below.

Steve1330_1-1650401461153.png

Having the same problem - Irritating as hell. Thanks for logging it.