SOLVED

HELP! How can I apply rule based filtering and row deletion in Power Query

Copper Contributor

Hey everyone! @Excel 

I am new to Power Query and need some help. I am trying to automate the data cleaning process as I have source data from a csv file that has repeated matching errors. I need to retrieve new updated sales data every week. Unfortunately, we don't have the ability to change the source data as it from a third party.

As the source data is so large, cleaning it manually over and over every week is not an option as it would take many hours on repeat. The current team have just left the errors and accepted the sales figures being slightly off, but I want to amend this.

Issue #1 - A variety of different products without a category assigned - Several hundred of the products don't have a category assigned to them. I want to replace the 'null' value with the correct category,  but there is 5 different categories depending on the group the product is in. I have about 20 wider sub-categories which are all correct, so in a normal excel table I would filter sub-category one by one and add the correct category to the visible products, then repeat until all the null values were filled. However, once I do this is Power Query, I lose all the other data, so only the filtered sub-category is available. Is there any way to replace 'null' values with a condition attached (e.g. replace 'null' with 'Dolls' if sub-category matches 'Barbies'? Or is there a way to stop the filter being irreversible?

Issue #2 - A variety of different products with no brand assigned - Most of the products have a brand in the brand column, but some also have a 'null' value. Every single product name is complete and has a brand within the name. Is there any way to do the replacement of 'null' values based on a partial match in the name column?