Adding numbers in a single cell without using formula bar

Copper Contributor

Hi,

I'm pretty new to excel but I wanted to start tracking my spending and I figured excel was the easiest way to do it. I can use basic functions of excel that are useful for this, such as autosum and conditional formatting, but I was wondering if there was a way to get an individual cell to automatically sum numbers that you type into that specific cell without having to go into the format bar at the top? Not using autosum to add inputs from a bunch of cells, literally just click a cell, type a number and it already adds it to the existing value. I already know I'm going to forget to use the formula bar and instead wipe all the numbers from the cell by typing straight into the cell.

Many thanks.

3 Replies

@kaizo I don't think that is a good idea. It is better to use a separate cell for each number. If you format the range of cells with numbers as a table (Home tab, Format as table), any formula that points to a column in your new table will automatically work on all cells of that column. So you do not have to change your SUM formula when you add new numbers to the table. If you put your SUM above your tabel and use the View, Freeze panes option with the first cell in your table that contains a number, you can scroll down in your table and the sum will stay in view (see example).

@kaizo.... I think you have a fundamental misunderstanding about how Excel works.

First, features like Autosum are merely alternatives ("shortcuts"?) that Excel provides for "convenience".  Nothing requires that you use them.  I never do.

Second, the Formula Bar is simply a place where Excel shows the content of a cell.  In other words, we type into a cell, and it appears in the FB.

Sometimes, it is convenient to change the cell content by editing in the FB.  That is the way I operate.