SOLVED

Error: Cannot find module '@microsoft/sp-build-web'

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I have set up the development environment for share point framework and i am trying to run the first application. when i do gulp serve, i get the error message as in the screen shot. Please could you assist me to get rid of this error. I am new to the share point component framework

In the package.json file, i see 

"@microsoft/sp-build-web""1.10.0", under the devDependencies.
I tried npm install --save-dev @Pernille-Eskebo/sp-build-web
npm install --save-dev
doesn't seems to be workingimage.png

20 Replies
You shouldn't need to install specific modules to get started as new projects are already created with all the dependencies in place.
Try deleting the node modules folder and run "npm install" again, just in case something went wrong the first time

HI @Joel Rodrigues 

I tried deleting node modules folder and did npm install again. I get the same error.

When i did npm install , i also noticed errors as shown in the screen shot. i doubt, because of those errors, whether the development environment is set up correct or not. 

image.png

@Vani_metamicro 

Please check the steps from the documentation and ensure that all is in place

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint/dev/spfx/set-up-your-development-environment

As an example, an unsupported node version is enough to cause issues so I suggest that you carefully follow the documentation as you could have accidentally missed something  

Hi @Joel Rodrigues 

Thanks for the reply. i will check the steps again from the documentation.

i will keep you posted :)

Hi, 

As you said, i am starting to set up the environment from the beginning. When i run the command 

npm install -g @Pernille-Eskebo/generator-sharepoint

I get the warning as shown in picture. Do you think is this a cause for the errors i received earlier which i shared in the screen shots?

image.png

best response confirmed by Joel Rodrigues (MVP)
Solution