SOLVED

project plan updates in project online

Copper Contributor

Hi

I am currently using the desktop client version to prepare and update the project plan. Once i have completed the updates, i would like to save the updated plan in Project Online. I am not sure how to go about doing it. 

I tried the following steps, but the plan is not getting updated in Sharepoint. 

1. Click on "Save As" 

2. Select "Sync with Sharepoint"

3. Select "Existing Sharepoint Site" in the "Sync with" option

4. No changes to the "Site Address".

5. No changes to the name of the project plan file.

6. Click on "Save"

I see a progress window that mentions "Updating Sharepoint and project".. once it completes, I go to Sharepoint to check if the project plan is updated, but don't see any changes to the existing plan in Sharepoint. 

I am new to project online tool as well as Sharepoint; so I am definitely doing something wrong or missing a step.

16 Replies
I think i found the solution, but i am not 100% sure if this is the right way. I went to Sharepoint and clicked on the icon next to the project name. The project plan opened in the Desktop.. i guess if i now make changes to the plan and save it, it should get saved in Sharepoint.
robertpoddar --

You are going about this all wrong! The first thing you need to do is to create your Project Online login account in your copy of Microsoft Project by completing the steps referenced in the following blog post:

https://ppmworks.com/log-on-to-project-web-app/

Then you need to exit Microsoft Project, relaunch the software, and click the OK button in the Login dialog. You can now open your project, click File > Save As, and then save the project to Project Online.

Hope this helps.
Hi Dale
I have an Office365 account and am able to login into Project Online (project.microsoft.com).
The following is what I initially did when I got the subscription to Project Online.
1. I went to my account in Office365