SOLVED

Use Flow to copy selected item from one list to another list based on a dropdown selection

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I am relatively new to Power Automate Flows, and I was wondering if anyone has figured out how to copy/move a list item from one MS List to another MS List using a flow, but instead of just selecting the item and moving to another list directly, if it was possible to 'Select which list an item is being copied to' from a dropdown selected value in the 'For a selected Item' workflow.

GamerzKris_0-1620139584927.png

I was trying to do a flow that uses the following:

Gets the selected item from the list

GamerzKris_1-1620139712439.png

and simply based on what the condition of the selection was, copy the list item into the selected list (There are x2 "Apply to each" after the Get Item, one for each list from the dropdown menu) where the only differences are the "Condition - Select Fiscal Quarter is equal to Q1 OR Q2" and the "Create Item in List Q1 OR Q2"

GamerzKris_2-1620139951019.png

But I keep getting an error when I run the test stating there is an issue with the Apply to Each action with not recognizing a string and needs to be a valid array.

GamerzKris_3-1620140193276.png

I am assuming instead of using the direct point to result of choice from Q1 or Q2, that I would instead need to use a 'Filter Array' expression that assigns a value to the result, but I am not sure if what I am trying to do is even possible. It sounds simple, but I thought I would ask. Thanks for your help.

3 Replies
best response confirmed by GamerzKris (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@GamerzKris you can do this quite easily using a variation of my example in the images below which copies an airport from a main list of all worldwide airports into a list for a specific country which the user selects when the flow runs. As with your flow the trigger is "For a selected item":

1-Flow.png

Next you need to initialize a variable to hold the option selected.