Tech Community Live: Microsoft Intune
Mar 20 2024, 07:30 AM - 11:30 AM (PDT)
Microsoft Tech Community
SOLVED

Intune License for Device Enrollment Manager accounts

Copper Contributor

Hi all,

I am new to Intune and was assigned to a project to enroll all company Windows desktop to Intune. I would like to assign myself as a DEM and start the enrollment.

What I am not sure here is how the license will work? Microsoft stated that one DEM can enroll up 1,000 devices but the one Intune license only accommodate 15 devices as the limit. This causes the confusion.

Does anyone have experience with DEM or any advice in my case?

Thanks for anything that you can help.

Kind regards,

9 Replies
A regular user can enroll 15 devices.
A DEM (with an Intune license) can enroll 1000.

If you would assign yourself the DEM role, then you can enroll 1000 devices. Either way, I would recommend that you don't assign the DEM role to your own account, but to an admin account. Otherwise, your regular account will have 1000 devices coupled with it.

What is your current environment? Are you devices AD joined/ AAD joined...? There might be a more automated solution for this

Hi @Thijs Lecomte ,

Thanks for your information. 

The business has an AAD but not any AD, so I would say it requires only AzureAD-joined devices. Also, around 100 workstations already AAD-joined and it is looking for a Device Management solution so I would suggest Intune.

I found this information from Microsoft: If a device is used by more than one user, each requires a device software license or all users require a user software license. (URL: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/mem/intune/fundamentals/licenses-assign)