Quiz Score Sheet

Copper Contributor

I’m a novice, I have created a excel worksheet to use at our church quiz night.

I have 10 teams in first column, then 10 columns to put results in as the quiz rounds are played. I then have a total common so as each result is added it adds them up. How can I then have this column ranked from 1st to last, or either have another total column, that shows the ranking 1-10

9 Replies
Just use the RANK.EQ or RANK.AVG function in another column.

=RANK.AVG(L1,$L$1:$L$10,0)

@Arnaud1010 

How do I do that

2022-05-21.png

@Sensei1948 

_Screenshot.png

in N3 and copy down:

=RANK.EQ(M3, M$3:M$10)

@Sensei1948 

Warning: this is simply playing with 365 and represents total overkill!  What I did with @L z.  data was to total, rank and sort by rank in a single formula.

image.png

This proved to be surprisingly difficult because the obvious ranking formulas RANK.EQ and COUNTIFS require range references and not arrays.  My final formula was

= LET(
    total, BYROW(score, Sumλ),
    rank,  MAP(total, Rankλ(total)),
    SORTBY(HSTACK(Team,total), rank)
  )

where the two lambda functions were defined in Name Manager to be

Rankλ 
= LAMBDA(arr, LAMBDA(x,1+SUM(SIGN(arr>x))))

Sumλ 
= LAMBDA(x, SUM(x));

The double LAMBDA is used to pass the total array and the specific instance to be ranked as separate parameters, with MAP generating individual values to be ranked.

Oops. I missed a trick there!  I do not need to rank the teams.  The sort will do that for me.  

= LET(
    total, BYROW(score, Sumλ),
    SORTBY(HSTACK(Team,total), total, -1)
  )

In fact, SORTBY is an effective way of determining the ranking!

@Sensei1948 

A couple of other 365/Dynamic array alternatives

_Screenshot.png

in N3:

=XMATCH(Totals, SORT(Totals,,-1))

in O3:

=XMATCH(Totals, SORT(UNIQUE(Totals),,-1))

@L z.