SOLVED

NO NAME MANAGER IN EXCEL ONLINE

Copper Contributor

When I get to know that there is no name manager in excel online, I got a shock by this. Now tell me how to name formulas and ranges without the name manager?? 

25 Replies

@VivekDholakia 

Short answer is to use Excel 365 desktop on Windows. All other versions (Excel for web, Excel on Mac, Excel mobile, etc) have limited functionality compare to it.

Excel for web is developed quite fast, perhaps this functionality will be available as well relatively in a short while.

Why is there no "Name Manager" (GESTIONE NOMI in Italian) in the Excel version for macOS on the FORMULAS tab?

On Windows, I can edit, delete cell names, on Mac it is not possible.

1 Photo: MacOS

2 Photo: Windows

Schermata 2021-05-08 alle 15.56.01.pngSchermata 2021-05-08 alle 15.56.22.png

@lorenzocs 

Sorry, I have no experience with Excel for Mac, perhaps @Riny_van_Eekelen could clarify.

@lorenzocs There is no Name Manager in MacOs. It's what you show in your picture "Define Name" (see picture) where you add, delete and edit named ranges/formulae. But there is nothing that compares to the Name Manager in the Windows version.

Screenshot 2021-05-08 at 17.32.58.png

I tried “Define Name” but i can only name a cell. I can’t edit/delete a given name...could you show me how it’s done on Mac?
best response confirmed by allyreckerman (Microsoft)
Solution

@lorenzocs Let's say I want to name the range A1:A20 "myNamedRange"

Step 1: Formula ribbon, Define Name

Screenshot 2021-05-09 at 06.20.39.png

Step 2: Enter the name you want to use, click in the "Select the range......" field.

Screenshot 2021-05-09 at 06.21.23.png

Step 3: Click on the "collapse"-button (far right in the "Select the range....." field) and select the range to be named (or directly write the reference of the range as indicated). Press OK.

Screenshot 2021-05-09 at 06.21.51.pngScreenshot 2021-05-09 at 06.22.02.png