Newbie trying to use Macros to delete/add columns

Copper Contributor

Hello all, 

I am new to Macros/VBA but have watched several tutorials. Unfortunately I still can't seem to solve my problem with columns. So, in a nutshell, I have a workbook with data and corresponding graphs on each tab. Each tab is pretty similar: I show a rolling 12 months of data, with a column for each month (see screenshot). Then EVERY MONTH, when I have new data, I have to delete the oldest column, add a new column, format the new column, make sure totals and %'s includes new column, and lastly incorporate it into the graph. This is incredibly monotonous to do for a many tabs and then repeat all of it each month. Is there a way I can write an Excel Macro to delete/add columns and perhaps another one to update the sheet once I add my new data?? Thank you so much, any help would be much appreciated

4 Replies

Hi @Moss Levenso

From above i have some doubts, clarify them, i definitely solve your problem.

1. As per your screenshot, you have sheet which always showing 12 months figures. right?

2. Above sheet has report from Apr 17 to Mar 18 (12 months). Next month will you delete Apr-17, and Add Apr-18 values. right?

If both of the above is right means, i can write macro. Please specify the cell reference (i.e) from which column and row value starts.