SOLVED

need to delete one drive

Copper Contributor

I try as hard as I can to not get one drive involved with my excel program, but invariably it somehow gets involved and as soon as it does it destroys my program.  I have been running this program daily for over 2 months.  When I opened it today, I get a message that it is being repaired. As I try to load my backup, it shows me it is in one drive.  Every time it backs something on one drive it damages the program  I there any way I can delete one drive from my exel?

2 Replies
best response confirmed by bigjim1216 (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@bigjim1216 

I understand your frustration with OneDrive interfering with your Excel program. While you cannot directly delete OneDrive from Excel, there are several ways to prevent it from causing issues:

1. Disable OneDrive integration in Excel:

• Open Excel.
  • Click on File > Options.
  • Select Save in the left pane.
  • Under Save Options, uncheck the box next to "Save to OneDrive by default".
  • Click OK.

This will prevent Excel from automatically saving files to OneDrive.

2. Change the default save location:

• Open Excel.
  • Click on File > Save As.
  • In the Save As dialog box, browse to the desired location where you want to save your files.
  • Click Save.

This will set the chosen location as the default for future Excel files.

3. Completely disable OneDrive:

• Right-click the OneDrive icon in the system tray (usually near the clock).
  • Select Settings.
  • Click on the "Unlink OneDrive" button.

This will stop OneDrive from syncing files to the cloud and prevent it from interacting with your Excel program altogether.

4. Use a local backup solution:

Instead of relying on OneDrive for backups, consider using a local backup solution like an external hard drive or a cloud storage service that doesn't automatically sync files. This will give you more control over your backups and prevent them from potentially damaging your Excel program.