IFS function not working

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I recently brought a spreadsheet over to a new laptop and the IFS statements that I had been using are no longer recognized. I get the #NAME? error in all cells that are currently using them.

Please advise on how to fix this. Thanks. 

39 Replies

@ApolloJFK , okay, good to know

Hi experts, I have a subscription of Office 365 (in fact my employer has). I am working on a database using the IFS function. Everything works well, I save the work and set the file aside. After a while, if I reopen the file, the formula with the IFS function is substituted with "=_xlfn.IFS((LEFT([@FR],3)="101")...".

When the sheet updates the values, then the formula is not recognised, and if I re-write the initial formula (that is "=IFS((LEFT([@FR],3)="101")...") the formula is not recognised either. 

This problem arose several times. I am not sure how I fixed it. Maybe I closed excel, or restarted the computer. What is sure is that it keeps occurring. 

The table I am using is of about 5200 lines and the file size is about 7MB. 

I am also syncing the files with onedrive.

In the past this syncing function caused me enormous problems as instead of updating the new files I worked on, the syncing kept downloading and substituting the new with previous versions - yet this is another annoying problem.

Thank you for your assistance.

Regards,

Damiano

@DamianoStella 

Could you please share your current Excel version which is File->About and looks like

image.png

@Sergei Baklan 

Thank you for your reply.

The compute I work on initially had a Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2016 (by the way, I had discovered that the release was installed with a pirate licence that the IT service provider - now sacked - had sold to me as authentic). 

The firm I work for, opted to purchase few licences of Office 365. I installed one of the licences and everything worked well for a while.