Default value not recognized

Copper Contributor

I will preface by acknowledging the amount of code written to accomplish a very simple task is likely sloppy and entirely unnecessary, but I'm very new and entirely self taught by forums such as these. With that said, here is my issue:

I have created a form that tracks when employees are observed under certain safety principles. To try and keep it as simple as possible for data entry I have two fields. A display field that shows the current record (left side) and a data entry field that manipulates the record (Right Side, all fields have "add" at the end). 

Jbuff26_0-1655221318378.png

If I want to add that they were observed on a principle, lets say its "Passing", then I select the drop down at "Pass Add" and select the "1" in the drop down menu. This then triggers a macro to update the record. The code for this is pretty simple and works great

Jbuff26_1-1655221715577.png

To make this happen however, I had to populate all the fields in the corresponding table with a "0". I found then I had to have a way to add employees to the record set on the fly so I created a quick data entry form that will add a new name to the record set. What I realized was that the 0's on the new employees weren't entered and thus the macro would not work on them. I changed the default value to "0" on the fields but it still doesn't work. The only way it works is if an actual 0 is entered for all blank fields. Why is this? 

3 Replies

@Jbuff26 

This is probably not the answer you want, but from what I can see in the screen shot and your description, the problem is actually an inappropriate table design for a relational database application.

Your table appears to have multiple columns--like a spreadsheet would--for things like "Passing" and "Body Awareness" and so on. These are all attributes of one kind of thing, not separate kinds of things.