How Do I Determine Which Dump Triggers Are Enabled
Published Jan 15 2019 11:32 AM 1,028 Views
First published on MSDN on May 11, 2009

Subject: RE: dumptrigger question

They don't survive service restart.

SQL 2000 did not have dumptrigger enabled for all error messages and I think 1105 is an ex_callprint instead of ex_raise so it won't work but I would have to look at the code to be certain.  SQL 2005 and 2008 enable many more dumptrigger conditions.

Use display to see what triggers are enabled.

dbcc traceon(3604)
dbcc dumptrigger('display')

Subject: dumptrigger question

I have a customer on SQL 2000 and I had them set a dumptrigger for Error 1105.  They got the 1105 but we didn't get a dump.

We had set the dumptrigger as follows.

DBCC DUMPTRIGGER ('set', 1105)

I have actually two questions.

1. how to check what has been set via dumptrigger.
2. does it survive a service restart?

Bob Dorr - Principal SQL Server Escalation Engineer

Version history
Last update:
‎Jan 15 2019 11:32 AM
Updated by: