Error enabling Office 365 CDN - Method "GetTenantCdnAllowedFileTypes" does not exist

Brass Contributor

I was trying to enable the private and public CDNs for our tenant but I was getting error with the Set-SPOTenantCdnEnabled PowerShell command - regardless of the CdnType switch - public or private.

I am running the latest SharePoint Online Management Shell and I am a tenant admin.

9 Replies

Hi @Kiril Iliev,

Only logical reason for this would be that you have SharePoint Online Clinet Components SDK (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=42038) installed on your machine where you are using these PowerShell cmdlets. This error is then actually raised by the assembly conflict in your local machine and it's not coming from SharePoint Online. 

Challenge with the SDK is that it installs CSOM assemblies to GAC, which then overrides them to be used by the PowerShell cmdlets when they are used in PowerShell session. In general we do NOT recommend using this SDK, rather reference the needed assemblies as a NuGet package (https://www.nuget.org/packages/Microsoft.SharePointOnline.CSOM), so that you'll get the latest and greatest APIs for your solutions.

If you uninstall the SDK from your machine, PowerShell cmdlets will use locally deployed assemblies, whcih should resolve your issue. If this is not the scenario or you'll still have the issue regardless of uninstalling this SDK, there's something else wrong. 

Hopefully that solves it.

I have done the following:

- uninstalled the SDK

- restarted the SharePoint Online Management Shell

- Added reference to the DLLs with version 16.1.6323.1200 (latest as of now) via Add-Type -Path "PathToDll" for Microsoft.SharePoint.Client.dll, Microsoft.SharePoint.Client.Runtime.dll and Microsoft.Online.SharePoint.Client.Tenant.dll (I believe that the needed methods would be all in the last assembly, but added the rest of the CSOM assemblies just to be sure)