Embed Stream videos in LMS

Copper Contributor

I am new to Stream (on SharePoint) after making the jump from Stream Classic.

Myself and my team share videos within our organisation on our Learning Management System (LMS).

Example below:

JPerryman88_1-1669713814837.png

Because the link allows for this video to be embedded, it automatically adds its as a viewable video in our LMS. 

Example below where the following link allows for embed calls:

JPerryman88_2-1669714035819.png

There is no need to add the &embed tag at the end and because its been shared with the whole organisation and published, it means it's viewable by everyone who has permission.

Example of current settings in Stream Classic

JPerryman88_3-1669714060696.png

Fast forwarding to Stream on SharePoint, I was shocked that a lot of the features seem to be missing and I am struggling to get the file to embed and shared with the whole organisation, which is a simple easy solution like it was in Stream classic. Whilst I get the whole security side of SharePoint will allow for files to be more secure, it does seem very different and would appreciate if anyone has a solution. 

One way of potentially sorting this would be to have a SharePoint site which is accessible by everyone; but realistically means duplicating files, which otherwise could be managed by a system like stream.

The reason for using stream in our LMS to enable us to have both autotranscription and forms that popup in the videos.

Thanks for reviewing and look forward to your responses

7 Replies
Hi JPerryman88,

Did you find a way to make Stream a reliable source for video content embedded into your LMS? I'm exploring the possibility of using Stream as well to host video content used in our LMS and also as an external quick reference resource, but your experience is discouraging. Hoping to hear if you could make it work. Thanks.

@TrevorHunt I created a folder in SharePoint which was shared with the whole organisation.