SOLVED

Best practice advice

Iron Contributor

Hello all

I am fairly new to Defender for O365. I am the cloud admin for a small company roughly 1000 accounts. We are moving from mimecast to Defender for O365. I read the article regarding preset security polices, and thought this would be a good place to start, so i enabled the standard policy for all the domains we host. Considering you cannot edit a preset policy i had to edit the default policy to fill in the gaps to account for the things like safe senders, blocked senders, safe domains and blocked domains. Is this the correct strategy to use? From my understanding the preset security policy will take precedence. How does the precedence work? If i create safe senders in the default anti-spam policy will these settings take effect even though the safe senders are not mentioned in the Standard preset security policy ? 

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/security/office-365-security/preset-security-policies...

9 Replies
best response confirmed by Skipster311-1 (Iron Contributor)
Solution
Precedence works in this order:

Strict protection preset security policy
Standard protection preset security policy
Custom security policies
Default security policies

Which means if a setting is set in a policy with a higher precedence, it can’t be overridden in a lower policy. You should be OK by using your approach.
Got it, that answers my question. So if a setting is configured in a lower precedence policy, and that same setting is not mentioned in a higher precedence policy, then the setting will apply. This makes sense.
Actually.. I'm having second thoughts about this :) It's been a while since I last configured it. I'd recommend testing it to be sure, Microsoft's documentation does state the precedence, they however don't unambiguously state if this only applies on top level policies or goes down to the setting level.