Edge installation on Debian linux (Raspberry Pi OS) on Raspberry Pi 400 fails

Copper Contributor

Hi,

I tried to install Edge using the command line instructions, and also by double clicking on a downloaded debian installer package, and both installs failed. This is using a Raspberry Pi 400 running the latest version of Raspberry Pi OS, which I believe is based on Debian. The command line install gave an error saying "Unable to locate package microsoft-edge-dev".

Any ideas what the issue may be?

Thanks

18 Replies
@formula1551700 I'm not an expert on Linux, so let's wait for the pros at Microsoft.

@Kam 

I've seen this happen multiple times, please if you don't know about a subject and don't have anything useful to add, you don't need to comment.

Maybe MS Edge is simply not compatible with ARM SoCs?

@HotCakeX  This article talks about Win10 ARM. Neither about Linux on ARM nor Mac on M1 (ARM).

Google Chrome for example supports M1 starting with 87.0.4280.67 (https://chromereleases.googleblog.com/2020/11/stable-channel-update-for-desktop_17.html)

@Johannes Goerlich 

Edge M1 chip support coming soon

https://twitter.com/MSEdgeDev/status/1329161442755547136

for Edge ARM SoC support (if it's entirely not available), it's best to send feedback through Edge feedback button. the way it works is that the more people ask for a feature, the higher priority that feature request will have for Edge developers.

@Johannes Goerlich  I suspect this is correct. I don't think the Edge version is arm, 

@HotCakeX Hope this will become available soon,

While the DEV version works on Ubuntu, the install on Raspberry Pi returns „Paket microsoft-edge-dev kann nicht gefunden werden.“ (package ... can’t be found) and the RasPi community is really also waiting for MS Edge, as you can read here: https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=288865