SOLVED

The type or namespace name 'S2S' does not exist in the namespace 'Microsoft.IdentityModel'

Copper Contributor

I'm new to development against the PnP-Sites-Core solution. After downloading the solution from GitHub, the initial build fails and I'm not sure why. The restoration of all Nuget packages seems to work, but I can't build the solution because "The type or namespace name 'S2S' does not exist in the namespace 'Microsoft.IdentityModel'."

I can't figure out what assembly reference I'm missing or what I'm doing wrong. Any ideas?

7 Replies

Hi @Eric Skaggs,

Can you check the reference to Microsoft.Identity Model?

In my case it is set to:

C:\WINDOWS\assembly\GAC_MSIL\Microsoft.IdentityModel\3.5.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35\Microsoft.IdentityModel.dll

What version of the Nuget package have you got installed for Microsofty.IdentityModel?

The problem appears to be related to Microsoft.IdentityModel.Extensions. Maybe @Erwin van Hunen or @Vesa Juvonen can help? Smiley Happy

I am running the code as-is from GitHub. The reference to Microsoft.IdentityModel in my local copy is C:\Program Files\Reference Assemblies\Microsoft\Windows Identity Foundation\v3.5\Microsoft.IdentityModel.dll. I changed it to match what you have and that did not make any difference.

There is no Nuget package for Microsoft.IdentityModel in the solution, so I did not install one. Here are the steps I'm taking.

1. Download PnP-Sites-Core as a .zip from GitHub: https://github.com/SharePoint/PnP-Sites-Core.
  2. Extract the files somewhere locally.
  3. Open OfficeDevPnP.Core.sln in Visual Studio 2015 Community Edition (running as admin)
  4. Build the solution.
    1. Nuget packages are restored
    2. Build fails
    3. Solution Explorer indicates that it can't find Microsoft.IdentityModel.Extensions

2017-01-04_8-58-05.png