Parsing a file name and comparing a string to file creation date

Brass Contributor

I'm still a novice in PowerShell, but I have continuing problems to solve.

I have automatically created file names of this form:

event-20220630T1420405650000.pqd

Where event- is constant, the next 8 characters represent yyyymmdd, T is a constant, and the remaining 13 characters represent an incrementing time, possibly in seconds since some starting date.

My challenge is to compare the yyyymmdd in the file name to the yyyymmdd in the file creation date and determine if the date in the file name is in the future when compared to the creation date.

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Fred

7 Replies
try this code and let know if this will solve your problem

$file_name = "event-20220630T1420405650000.pqd"
$date_str = $file_name.Substring(6, 8)
$date_obj = [datetime]::ParseExact($date_str, "yyyyMMdd", $null)

$file_path = "C:\path\to\event-20220630T1420405650000.pqd"
$creation_time = (Get-ItemProperty -Path $file_path).CreationTime
$creation_date = $creation_time.Date

if ($date_obj -gt $creation_date) {
Write-Output "Date in file name is in the future."
} else {
Write-Output "Date in file name is not in the future."
}