SOLVED

New to Powershell - Moving Values Between Attributes

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I am new to these forums and Power Shell in general so please bare with my newness :)

I think I will start with a little bit of history since since it may help as I maybe missing something all together.

I am a New Server Administrator.

We have moved from Exchange on Prem to o365 Off Prem while still using AD On Prem.

That being said our signature solution changed to a cloud based solution (Exlaimer Cloud) and some of the AD Attributes we were using Microsoft does not Sync over to to o365. 

Example:

Our call manager uses telephone number which we have as an extension  XXXX

so we use the OTHER Telephone to make it XXX.XXX.XXX for display on our signatures.

otherFacsimileTelephoneNumber  is however NOT Synced over fro On Prem AD

We are thinking / working towards possibly moving to Azure AD which will fix this however, that is awhile away.

So I am trying to move some attributes over... however I can not figure it out.

Can anyone assist?

I am trying to do the following...

Target = Users in Specified OU  (for this example lets say FQDN / DOMAIN / Computer Users / HR / John Doe )

Move Attributes:

Attribute 1 -

from otherTelephoneNumber

to homePhone

Attribute 2 - 

from otherFacsimileTelephoneNumber

to pager

Attribute 3 - 

from info

to ipPhone

I know this wont be the CLEANEST for Active Directory, but with the sync options that actually work with o365... I am left without many options.

7 Replies

Hello @dwmoreau,

From information provided in your post I am assuming you are using AzureADConnect to sync users and their attributes from on-prem AD to AzureAD.

You can add additional attributes to the sync using ADConnect tool:
" ...you can add missing attribute by synchronizing it from your on-premises Active Directory (AD) to Azure Active Directory (Azure AD)."

Please follow steps outlined here.

Hope that helps.

@AndySvints