SOLVED

WAC + Storage Migration Service: Source fails validation - SMB connection, access denied

Copper Contributor

Hi all,

I'm brand new to WAC and Storage Migration Services.  I'm trying to set it up so that I can copy data from SourceA server to TargetB server.   SourceA is being migrated to TargetB machine, surprise surprise.

I am running into a problem getting the Job set up for this process.  After I have added the two machines and click on 'Validate' the status for the SourceA machine says that it failed:  "SMB Connection works -> Fail: Access is denied".

Strange part is that I am able to administer this SourceA machine from the rest of the WAC console; selecting it from Devices shows the full data from the remote machine.

SourceA:

- Validation result = FAIL

- Windows Server 2016  (AWS instance)

- I believe that I have all the ports open in the Windows Firewall.

- I do have access to the AWS console:   As an AWS instance, I also have to open up the Security profile for this machine; this is also done.  (I think ... I was skeptical about the recommended port range for the RPC/DCOM ephemeral ports - it's almost opening the entire port range?!  Why not just disable the firewall?  Just to be sure:  I did open the AWS Security firewall up to everything from the TargetB machine - all ports, all the time.  SMS Validation still fails; I AM still able to admin the SourceA machine, though.)

TargetB:  Windows Server 2019 (AWS instance)

- Validation result = PASS

- I have installed WAC on this machine, so my Orchestrator and my destination are the same machine

- I have installed SMS here (via WAC console)

- I do NOT have access to the AWS console for this machine - I can't directly modify the Security/firewall of AWS.  (I can modify the OS firewall.)