How to add students to classroom

Copper Contributor
I am new to team I have created classroom with my organization I'd in teams but iam unable to make students to join in my classroom. I have gone to add members to my classroom but when iam typing name or email I couldn't find any one so how do I need to make students to join in my classroom
Can I add students with gmail account to my classroom ?
Is it require a student to have organization I'd to join my classroom
3 Replies

Hello @sampathsiddam , it is good to try out new things so congratulations for trying out Microsoft Teams. There are various versions of Ms Teams out there. There is the corporate version when you have a commercial license, there is the educational version when you are registered as an educational institution and there is the free version when you create your own "organization".

For the first two versions, your admin needs to allocate Ms Teams licenses to your users. In fact, it is bundled with a particular license. For example school learners can be allocated an A1 license that includes the use of Ms Teams for Education. These licenses are free, but your institution still has to be registered as an educational institution for you to have this option.

If you are using the free version of Ms Teams (the third option) where you simply go ahead and create your own "organization", you can send invitations via email to those whom you want to "join" your organization. It does not matter what email address they are using. I think the first time they try to log in, Microsoft will request them to create a free account - using whatever email address they are using. You can then add them to the various teams in that "organization". AFAIK you need to be logged in with the credentials of the original creator of that "organization" in order to send invitations and add users. (Also see this conversation about adding members.)