Microsoft Secure Tech Accelerator
Apr 03 2024, 07:00 AM - 11:00 AM (PDT)
Microsoft Tech Community

Instant/Live Alerts for Quarantined Emails

Copper Contributor

Hello and hopefully this is the right forum. My work email is Outlook and is filtered through Windows Defender. I'm still not sure of what Defender does that the regular Junk email folder doesn't do?

But my question with an example... I work as an estimator and submit bids to owners. An issue I have with Defender is that it quarantines messages and tells me the next day that it quarantined a message. At this point, my bid was due the day before and I missed this vital piece of information that was quarantined with no real-time notifications. This is obviously extremely frustrating as I can lose bids and work for my company because of this delay. Bids are fast pace and busy in the last few hours before submission. I don't have time to keep checking other programs. I also get emails from both existing contacts and new contacts, so it is difficult setting up filters for new contacts on bid day when I am too busy with other tasks. 

How can I get live updates for quarantined email? Heck, I'd like to turn off the email quarantine feature and just let the regular junk mail folder do its work. At least the junk mail folder has a live/real-time indicator. 

3 Replies

It's a common ask, @Arindam Thokder might be able to share the latest on this.

@Vasil Michev lol, so it sounds like it is a commonly ignored ask if it has never been incorporated into the program.

Microsoft slaps the word Defender on what, five, six related products now? This group is for Defender for Office 365, the rebrand of the Advanced Threat Protection add-on for Exchange Online. I have it on good authority that the accepted abbreviation is MDO, and I'm going to assume that MDO / Exchange Online is your problem.