Instant/Live Alerts for Quarantined Emails

Copper Contributor

Hello and hopefully this is the right forum. My work email is Outlook and is filtered through Windows Defender. I'm still not sure of what Defender does that the regular Junk email folder doesn't do.

But my question with an example... I work as an estimator and submit bids to owners. An issue I have with Defender is that it quarantines messages and tells me the next day that it quarantined a message. At this point, my bid was due the day before and I missed this vital piece of information that was quarantined with no real-time notifications. This is obviously extremely frustrating as I can lose bids and work for my company because of this delay. Bids are fast pace and busy in the last few hours before submission. I don't have time to keep checking other programs. 

How can I get live updates for quarantined email. Heck, I'd like to turn off the email quarantine feature and just let the regular junk mail folder do its work. At least the junk mail folder has a live/real-time indicator. 

6 Replies
Hi Chris,

Are you an admin of your organization? You could set up notifications when email goes in quarantine to a certain account. Else you could navigate to: https://security.microsoft.com/quarantine?viewid=Email

This should provide you a personalised view of your quarantined emails.

Finally you can also have your Admin change where the emails end up if you'd prefer these going to the junk folder rather than Quarantine.

Let me know if this helped?

@kaydaskalakis

Thanks for the reply and help. I'm not an admin but I do get notifications. I just get them the next day which is a day late, lol.

It's cludgy having to monitor a second account in a fast pace bid, but I guess if it can't be fixed, I'll have to use the work around.