SOLVED

role needed to view devices inventory in Defender

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I'm a global admin for my organization and was recently asked to provide read only access to a manager in Defender. He is mainly interested in viewing the devices inventory in the security portal. I assigned the role of security reader but he reported he he was not able to see it. I then assigned the role of global reader yet still he reported not being able to see it. I am not sure why he is not able to see the devices option, I don't want to assign the security admin role unless really necessary. Any thoughts on what could be happening? Thanks!

Defender devices.JPG

5 Replies
I've seen it already in some tenants. What license have you got and have you ever migrated or downgraded/upgraded your MDE Plan - for example from MDE Plan 2 to Defender for Business.
best response confirmed by glujan72 (Copper Contributor)
Solution
Are you using the MDE RBAC in your environment?

If so, read-only roles are no longer valid for MDE, so you will need to give him a role in MDE as well.
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/security/defender-endpoint/rbac?view=o365-worldwide

Also check if device groups have security groups assigned for user access.
If a device group has a security groups assigned, only users that are part of these security groups will be able to see those devices.

@Kris_Deb_e2e Thanks for the reply. I am not sure what MDE plan we have, looking at our licensing it only shows MDE for endpoint server and we have an MS365 E5 license which includes MS365 Defender. I am more of a O365 admin dealing mainly with Intune, Exchange and AAD.

@Jonhed Thanks for the reply. I verified and we do not have RBAC activated so that must be the reason security reader no longer grants that ability. I will have to discuss it with our security team if we want to enable it. 

@glujan72 

Actually, if you do not have the RBAC enabled, my understanding is that reader roles should work.