Forum Discussion
Site Reset - safe or Risky? - ANSWERED
PaulKlerkx A site reset is safe to perform. All site roles and components will be re-installed, which essentially means that all files and registry settings, that are necessary for those roles and components to function correctly, will be (re-)created. All Configuration Manager component and object configurations are stored in the site database, so those will be retained. Any non-default permissions you configured through the console will remain as they are. However, as you already mentioned, all ConfigMgr-related file, folder, share and registry permissions will be reset to their defaults.
A site reset is part of the site update process, so if you experienced permissions-related issues after you updated your site, chances are you set custom (non-standard) permissions to certain files, folders, shares and/or registry keys that are managed by ConfigMgr. If that's the case, then you will probably have to re-create those after each site update.
Michiel Overweel Awesome, exactly what I was hoping to hear. Thankyou.