SOLVED

Help with parameter for Search-UnifiedAuditLog

Iron Contributor

Hi,

Disclaimer: I am new to PowerShell, hence why I turn here for your input.

Background:

I'm creating a Power BI dashboard based on data exported from the O365 Audit Log. For the moment, I'm not using the recently launched API, but a daily scheduled PowerShell script to export the data. Everything works fine with one exception:

Issue:

The maximum number of objects that can be returned in one query is 5000 (see article for details). We have a fairly small tenant, so I have divided the cmdlet to run twice to cover 24h (AM+PM), that gives us 10k rows which usually is enough. Now the exception is when we run SharePoint backups via Metalogix. The operation is of course walking through every single file which results in logs well above 10k rows.

Solution?

What I want to achieve is to exclude the user account associated with the backup operation, to only return "relevant" objects/events. I was hoping to archive this by using the parameters provided in the cmdlet, but with my limited knowledge I can't figure it out. I can pass user ID's to include, but would this also allow me to exclude by user ID? If so, how?

I can always divide the cmdlet to run more than twice per 24h, allowing more objects to be returned, but I hope there is a better solution to this. 

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/mt238501%28v=exchg.160%29.aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-21472173...

Many thanks!

23 Replies

What you are looking for I guess is something like a "NOT" operator, which will allow you to exclude all actions from particular user/account. Unfortunately, I'm not aware of such for the UserIds parameter of the Search-UnifiedAuditLog cmdlet. I guess you can do it the other way around, use the UserIds parameter to explicitly list all users, apart for the service account used for backups.

Flagging @Tony Redmond to double-check.