Universal Print set up requirement

Copper Contributor

Hi,

I am new to universal print. Can someone clarify the below points?

Our tenant is a cloud-based environment with Azure AD & Domain services. We don't have an on- prem AD; Intune manages all our windows 10 devices. We do have an Azure IaaS service.

In regards to the Universal print setup,

• If all my printer firmware are compatible with Universal Print service, Then still do I need to deploy a new Windows 10 / Windows 2016 server for Universal Print connector is that correct can you please confirm? If no servers are required then what will be the next step?

• If the current printer firmware doesn't support the communication protocols that the Universal Print service uses then only I need to provision a new Windows 10 / Windows 2016 server for Universal Print connector is that correct can you please confirm?

• What is the specification required for the new windows 2016 server?

• For example, if I have deployed a new IaaS server in Azure after that before installing the Universal Print connector, Do I need to install all the on-premise individual printer drivers to that new server?
  • The reason we do have around ten printers in different locations; I believe in that case, I need to make sure all those ten printers can communicate from the new server & install those 10 Printers to the new server? Is that correct?

• After printers registered to use Universal Print connector then how can I add the individual printers to the correct connector group?
  • For example, the connector name US Printers, I believe the US printers will display in Azure Portal blade and choose the US printers and add individual printers for US group via the azure portal is that the correct method?
  • What happens if the Universal Print connector Server/service is down, what will be the end-user experience?