MSIX not visible in Apps & Features ?

Copper Contributor

Hi

I'm a beginner in MSIX (but enough skilled in MSI design)

So I started to create a very simple MSI just installing one EULA file under its [INSTALLDIR]

The I used MSIX packaging tool (provided by Microsoft version 1.2020.709.0) and translated the "simple" MSI into MSIX package, and signed also with my own Enterprise certificate (the same I'm using for signing my MSIs). No problem at this stage.

Installation of such MSIX is going well apparently but NO entry is visible under "Apps & Features"...

I can just see it with Get-AppxPackage cmd thru a Powser Shell with Admin

I guess it is a problem from MSIX packaging tool usage as installing the "normal" MSI is OK.

Where am I wrong please ?

Rgds

13 Replies

Hi @JF_BAUDE 

I never had this problem before, but if I were to guess I would suspect that having a simple EULA file as target instead of an actual executable might confuse the OS.

Can you try placing a dummy EXE in the package instead?

The EULA might trick the MSIX Packaging Tool to not detect correctly an entry point for your package and this might (I am just guessing here) not be supported correctly by the OS when you install the package.

Bogdan

Hi@Bogdan Mitrache 

Thanks for your reply.

I'll do as you are suggesting below.

Notice nevetheless that I used this morning (I'm located in France) AdvancedInstaller free tool, instead of MSIX Packaging tool from Microsoft, and it worked properly meaning I could see the new entry under "Apps & Feature"

Rgds

Hi Bogdan

I redo with my "simple" MSI with one EULA + added EXE file to be installed under [INSTALLDIR] but still the same visibility issue under "Apps & Features"

I still suspect that I'm wrong using MSIX Package tool but at which step ?

Rgds

Hi @JF_BAUDE,