Microsoft Secure Tech Accelerator
Apr 03 2024, 07:00 AM - 11:00 AM (PDT)
Microsoft Tech Community
SOLVED

Azure Group search needs wild cards

Steel Contributor

We only have 200 Azure groups, but unless the Admin knows the name of the group when they are searching for it they can't use search 

As an Azure Admin I need to be able to find groups to alter them even if I don't know the text the group name starts with. Azure group search currently only finds items that match my search terms and any following characters, but sometimes I only know a term within the Group name.

If you know how I can do this within the current interface please let me know. Thanks :)

Please update search so that it searches within the group name words.

Group search needs to have wildcard options
OR
Search needs to find search terms within group names, not just where the group name starts with the search terms.

e.g. search for Dunedin should return all 3 of the following groups but only returns the first one in this list:
Dunedin project
29137 Dunedin reorganisation
Management Dunedin

This applies to the following page within Azure Active Directory

Groups - All Groups
The following page
https://aad.portal.azure.com/#blade/Microsoft_AAD_IAM/GroupsManagementMenuBlade/AllGroups

4 Replies
The only solution I've found to this at present is to use the SharePoint online Modern search "Sites" vertical to find the Teams related SharePoint space, then from that get the actual team name. The URL for a Dunedin search follows this format https://YourTennantName.sharepoint.com/sites/YourIntranetSiteName/_layouts/15/search.aspx/sites?q=Du... Hope this helps some of you. I'm still interested in a Microsoft staffer's comment on how to do / use the Azure Groups search bar in this Use Case. Dorje
best response confirmed by Dorje McKinnon (Steel Contributor)
Solution