Significant User Interface Improvements to Citations in Word?

Copper Contributor

As I try to finish my dissertation, I can't help but notice that the citation system in word could use some serious redesign, both in how the interface is handled and features presented. I remember these issues being present when I completed my masters over ten years ago and I am shocked to find these issues are still present today in Word 365.

1) Insert Citation should have the ability, when clicking on the icon for the drop down menu, to reorder in ways other than just by author. There is the option to reorder in the manage sources dialog, however, when I am trying to insert a source its very often the title of the book, or a year I'm thinking of and not always the author.  

2) The Source Manager dialog box should not be a dialog box at all, but a separate window I can dock on the side. It needs to resizable, and easier to work with as I develop a paper. The ability to export all of my sources as an XML or other formatted document and even connect various source 'databases' within my own collection would be helpful as I build a library of citations for publications, grants and other works. The idea of adding a field to allow me to add my own comments about a source would be great so I can remember that maybe one source wasn't the best.

3) Custom Citation Formats (called something other than Styles so we don't have conflicting terminology). The system for 'styles' is quite daunting, I've been looking for a good IEEE version, however, even those online and offered by others have issues with certain layout requirements. I wish I had time to dive deeper into the system for implementing my own styles, but deadlines currently don't make that a reality. Changing the name from 'style' as well would be really nice so that when searching and referring to citations the term doesn't dredge up information on the 'styles' for formatting levels of text in a document.