SOLVED

Problems setting up Azure AD Connect

Brass Contributor

Hello!

Ive recently installed Azure AD Connect on one of our DCs.

Ive started out with an testing OU with 1 user.

This user also existed in Office365/AzureAD as "In-cloud" user.

I made the user a member of a group called Office365 Sync

I forced the sync- and the user is now synced with on-prem AD

However, i moved my own account into this testing OU, made myself a member of "Office365 Sync"

Forced the sync.

My In-Cloud account isnt being converted to a "Synced with local AD" account.

Ive matched the mailattribute and proxyaddress.

This is my first time setting this up.

Basically, the problem is the soft-matchning, i want my Office365 In-cloud to become a "Synced with local AD" account

19 Replies
UPN is set as well on premises , to match the Domain in 365?

Hey,

Yes thats correct.

UPN in AD matches the UPN in AzureAD

The default value that syncs an account in the cloud to an account in your AD is your email address.

When you setup AADC you have to option to change your "source anchor" which is what would be used to identify accounts, but that should not change the original matching.

Did you do a full sync or a delta sync? Make sure you try a full sync, then look at the logs to ensure it is syncing two objects.

Start-AdSyncSyncCycle -Policytype Full

Adam

Hey Adam!

I have tried both
Start-AdSyncSyncCycle -Policytype Initial
Start-AdSyncSyncCycle -Policytype Delta

I have not changed the default source anchor, from what i know atleast, is there any way to check this?

During the setup, i choose.

"Uniquely identifying your users
• User identities exist across multiple directories. Match using:
•Mail attribute

Select how users should be identified with Azure AD
• Let Azure manage the source anchor"

Hey Martin,

That sounds correct and fine. Can you take a look at the logs?