SOLVED

General Question: Microsoft 365 admin console tab label

Brass Contributor

I've never noticed before, but I do now. My admin tab label in any browser I choose, across several networks, displays as "Početak - Microsoft 365 admin center" via login through https://portal.microsoft.com

I am not Serbian, my company has no affiliations with Serbia, and our regional settings are not Serbian. Yet, that "Početak" is the word for "beginning" in Serbian. I'm thinking maybe Serbian contractors or Microsoft devs maybe made a mistake? I cannot find anything relevant to this via searches, so maybe someone has an answer on here. Maybe I'm overthinking, but just curious. I'm also not a developer, so the answer might be something very innocent.

<*UPDATE 4/4/24*- Microsft appears to be rolling out a fix either regionally or all together. NA tenants look to be getting attention (ours is displaying correctly now). Looks like this was simply a language mishap, as pointed out in the noted "best response" in this thread. Thanks all for the interest and getting this noticed! >

76 Replies
Hey there!

I don't have much information, but it does seem like this is something effecting all Microsoft 365 admin users. I found a few others sharing their experience on Reddit but nothing concrete.

https://www.reddit.com/r/sysadmin/comments/1btyfoa/microsoft_365_admin_center_tab_in_croatian/

I was certainly concerned seeing my admin tab in a different language. Hopefully someone here can give a better explanation.

@RS_Admin 

I noticed the same thing this morning. The Admin tab shows "Početak - Microsoft 365 admin center". I have not seen this before and a bit concerned why it changed.

We are facing the same as well. Kinda freaked out when I first saw it.

@RS_Admin This is a huge problem. It looks strange enough to be a sign that a sloppy developer or hacker changed the language on us. I started a support ticket that went a little like this: