Cloud Careers Friday Feature: Harjit Dhaliwal

Microsoft

Introducing Friday Feature! Each Friday of the month, we will be featuring a Tech Community Member to share their career experiences. We are excited to introduce this week’s Friday Feature— @Harjit Dhaliwal. Harjit is a Senior Systems Administrator at the University of Vermont. He was awarded the MVP Award this year for Windows and Devices for IT.   

Harjit.jpg

@Harjit Dhaliwal

Senior Systems Administrator

University of Vermont

MVP: https://mvp.microsoft.com/en-us/PublicProfile/5002293

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Hoorge

Tell us a little bit about who you work for, your role in the organization, and if your organization has transitioned to the cloud.

I'm a Senior Systems Administrator at the University of Vermont where I focus on Microsoft technologies such as ConfigMgr, SCOM, Windows Server, Windows OS, and patch management to name a few. We have not transitioned to the cloud yet as we prefer to embrace on-premises technologies within our robust and state-of-the-art data centers which meets our needs and requirements. We are slowly working our way into the cloud mind frame with the Office 365 offerings for our students.

Is there organizational resistance to the transition to the cloud? Is it due to resource constraints? Or with the state of the art on-prem infrastructure you have—is there not a driving force?

The slow move to cloud services is due to several factors. There is some organization resistance, some due to compliance and legal reasons, some because we want to control and customize tools and products so they work as we would like them to in our environment and for our Line of Business applications, and because we've made some significant investments in hardware and data centers to name a few. The driving force hasn't been much of a factor since central campus IT has been providing and supporting the on-premises infrastructure, and the technical expertise to the constituents.