What causes this process of extracting webpage data run so slow?

Copper Contributor

Hello my dear life savers! :rose:

I've created an Excel file with a macro which works as I want, but for processes on larger data it performs slow (or not as fast as I need so I must give up), and I need your help to find out if this is normal or not and if it's just a system limit or the nature of this operation is time consuming. And if it's not natural, how can I improve it?

The macro, opens a webpage including results as separate items, downloads the HTML document then navigates through the results, extracts each item and it's corresponding pieces of data and inserts them into a table.

I'm not an expert on VBA or Excel but the areas of code I suppose might have the potential to cause problem are:

1- Memory issues due to opening objects for IE. I've read that you must clear the objects at the end and I've tried to do so. Does this make the process slow if not addressed properly?

2- The way I extract data: Now I extract data for an item then insert that item into the cells, then extract the next item and insert it's data into the cells and so on. Does it make a difference to extract an individual item and insert it into cells then go to the next item OR extract all items, assign them all into an array, then insert items from array into cells at once?