SOLVED

Index and match for a single output from data across multiple pages

Copper Contributor

Hi All, I'm a bit of a novice when extending out from the normal set of formula you can use in excel.  I have a project under way being built under Office 2021 - to then be migrated to SharePoint 365.

As I have typed out the title and checked some of the suggestions, much the same for the wider web, I am struggling to find a solution.  In my head it's pretty straight forward, but obviously my skill stops there.

OK.

In one sheet called [Page4] I have an array of particular data, but I want to pull some common data from other pages (Names, Group Numbers, and Locations).  So far I have been successful with drawing this information from one searchable sheet [Page1] using:

Name Manager:

Group = 'Page1'!$A3:$A1000

User = 'Page1'!$B3:$B1000

Location = 'Page1'!$C3:$C1000

>> Then

Page4

Cell A3, { =IF(B3="","",INDEX(Group,MATCH(B3,User,0))) }

Cell B3, Validation > List { =Matrix }  [Matrix = (All users from all pages, remove duplicates)]

Cell C3, { =IF(B3="","",INDEX(Location,MATCH(B3,User,0))) }

So far so good... It is working great.  However, other pages have been added, Page2 and Page3.

Now, I've tried multiple suggestions, they all seem to work just fine - but nothing I can use.

Name Manager:

Group = 'Page1'!$A3:$A1000

Group21 = 'Page2'!$A3:$A1000

Group22 = 'Page3'!$A3:$A1000

User = 'Page1'!$B3:$B1000

User21 = 'Page2'!$B3:$B1000

User23 = 'Page3'!$B3:$B1000

Location = 'Page1'!$C3:$C1000

Location21 = 'Page2'!$C3:$C1000

Location23 = 'Page3'!$C3:$C1000

Each page has a different purpose, so through the Matrix which brings all Users Together, I would like to search all three pages for the relevant user data (Group Number and Location) as laid out in the Page4 Formula

I've tried, as an example:
Cell A3  { =INDEX(A3,((Group)*(Group21)*(Group22)),MATCH(B3,User,0)) }

Result: #SPILL!

Any workable suggestions would be great and appreciated in advance.