SOLVED

Conditional Formatting a Table

Copper Contributor

I am new to this so bare with me. 

I am creating a schedule for 5 people. There are two columns and 8 rows. The column on the left has a dropdown menu with options 1-8 representing hours. There is also another cell containing a dropdown menu with the names of the 5 people who will be scheduling. The goals are as follows:

A row will automatically shade as the number of hours are choses. For example, if in the first row "1 hour" is chosen by "Dale", the row will be shaded the color assigned to Dale. If 2 hours, 2 rows, etc. After 8 rows is shaded, the entire table is full. 

currently, the rows are correctly shading with the selected number of hours and in the in the correct colors. 

Here are the problems:

1. When another name is chosen from the drop-down menu, the rows that are already shaded automatically change to the color of the new user. They need to stay the original color and be locked for changes. 

2. Number of hours can manually be entered ending up at more than 8 hours per day. Is there a way to limit input to the drop down only, no manual entry?

3. When I go back in to conditional formatting, the formulas are different. Is there something I am doing wrong? A way to prevent this from happening?

Conditional Formatting rules entered in each row for each user. 

Row 1    =AND($A$2="DAVE", C5>=1) ....

Row 2    =AND($A$2="DAVE", C5+C6>=2) ....

Row 3    =AND($A$2="DAVE", C5+C6+C7>=3) ....

Any help is appreciated.

2 Replies
best response confirmed by GrahmSchneider13 (Microsoft)
Solution

@Pkrutilek1550 

Hello,

Answering your questions: