Word - Options - Proofing - need different options saved for different types of material

Copper Contributor

I'm a professional proofreader and work in different areas (legal transcripts, literary, scholarly). The proofing options required for these areas are very different, but there doesn't seem to be a way to save different sets of options. I tried to set options with a custom template, but the next time I opened Word with just the normal template those options were in normal as well. It is really cumbersome to have to set options every time I open a different type of document. And in one use, I do a file compare, bringing in RTFs, and I need the options there as well. Is saving separate proofing options even possible? TIA

6 Replies

Hello @mimiproof ,

if you set a template for each proofing field, you need to open the text in exactly that template. Which you can't do, because the text is already in a document based on Normal.dot, right?

Open a new document based on your particular template (say legal transcript) and then paste the legal text into that template. Knowing legal documents and their notoriously difficult automated numbering, I can see a number of issues raising from that too.

Or, you can invest time and separately record a macro for each separate set of proofing conditions, so that when you open your text, you just run a particular macro to set-up the correct environment.

On second thought, I think the macro might be the preferable option.

@Lenka_Kerumova 

Thanks for your response. I did try the template approach. It doesn't work. The settings stuck and were the same when I reopened Word with the default template. It appears that macros are the only way to go.

@mimiproof 

As you have noticed, you can't specify a different set of proofing options for different documents or templates.