Word bullet formatting changes in various sections on same page

Copper Contributor

Matthew Katz

Email address removed

Reference case number: 1034530899

HP Envy

Word/Office 365

Windows 11

For some reason, as I'm creating a Word doc, the bullet spacing/formatting will "magically" change. And trying to adjust it back with the ruler doesn't work to make the bulleted sections uniform. 

I've tried turning off all autoformatting options, I've tried selecting different style headings, nothing seems to work.

I'm hoping this makes sense because it's really hard to explain without showing you the problem in action... but I spent about an hour with online customer support and they weren't able to help me.

So I'm hoping someone in the community knows what the heck I'm talking about and can show me how to fix this. 

8 Replies
Hello! I'm a community manager here and while I can't answer your question directly, I hope you get an answer!

Just a quick note to remind you that sharing your case number will only help official Microsoft support representatives, and this is not an official Microsoft support community.

Just letting you know for future reference. If you've been instructed by a support person to share your case number here, please let us know so we can correct them for the future.

@Eric Starker thanks for the speedy reply.

Yes, the MS rep told me to include the case number... she said folks in here (I don't know if any official MS folks actually answer questions or read these things) would be able to see the case history to better understand the problem. 

@Matthew_Katz 

Thanks, the rep spoke incorrectly as this is not an official support community (that would be Microsoft Q&A), and anyone from Microsoft who might even respond (and yes, some employees do respond) would not be a support engineer and would be unable to access your case number. I'll let the team know.

Anyway, hopefully the community can answer your question!