Use "Value" Field from Drop-Down List Properties with a Combo Box Content Control

Copper Contributor

Hi There,

I am wanting to do something which should seem to be very basic but doesn't seem to work and am pulling my hair out. I am using a Combo Box Content Control drop down for users to select a persons initials, however in the drop down list I want to show the persons full name to save any confusion. 

For example in the drop down list I want the users to see "John Smith" or "Mary Jones" but when the user makes their selection I want only the initials to populate the field so "JS" or "MJ". 

RobertOliverNZ_0-1684804904371.png

I have tried using various Visual Basic modules I found online but all seem to throw up various issues and I'm not really a coder. Hoping someone has a simple fix for what seems to be such a simple thing that Word misleads you with.

Thanks in advance!

8 Replies

@RobertOliverNZ 

To achieve the desired functionality in Microsoft Word with a Combo Box Content Control, you can use a combination of the Display Name and Value properties. Here's a step-by-step guide:

1. Open your Word document and go to the Developer tab. If you don't see the Developer tab in the ribbon, you may need to enable it first. You can do this by going to Word Options, selecting Customize Ribbon, and checking the box for Developer.

2. Click on the Combo Box Content Control button in the Controls group to insert a combo box into your document.

3. Right-click on the combo box and choose Properties from the context menu.

4. In the Content Control Properties dialog box, go to the Drop-Down List Properties tab.

5. Enter the full names (e.g., "John Smith", "Mary Jones") in the Display Name column and enter the corresponding initials (e.g., "JS", "MJ") in the Value column. Each entry should be in the same row.

6. Click OK to close the Content Control Properties dialog box.