SOLVED

Problem with multilevel list

Brass Contributor

Good morning, please I have a serious problem. I am doing my thesis, and for this I created a multilevel list, up to 5 levels.
Title 1 was: CHAPTER I:
Title 2 was: 1.1.
Title 3 was: 1.1.1.
Title 4 was: 1.1.1.1
Title 5 was: 1.1.1.1.1.

You can see below.

Lista multinivel.JPG

But suddenly I don´t know what happened, after clicking here.

LuisElCaminante_0-1630452128359.png

When I clicked there, that stick or black rectangle was put in place of what I had put. I feel like I lost all the work I did in one day editing the numbering and layout. I would greatly appreciate your help, please, to solve this problem.

9 Replies
I don't know why that happened, I'm not sure if it was by clicking there (second image), what could have happened or what could I have done? Thank you.
best response confirmed by LuisElCaminante (Brass Contributor)
Solution

Hello @LuisElCaminante ,

The multilevel numbers are corrupted. This is a known issue. I had raised a request for a fix with Microsoft two years ago, and it was released - but in Word 2019. There seem to be different fix releases for different version.

This might help you:

MS Word heading styles are showing black boxes instead of numbers--how - Microsoft Community

Or, you could call your MS support - call, not write - and mention it to them saying it is years old issue, how they can help you fix it.

I hope this helps. Good luck.

Lenka

Hello @Lenka_Kerumova 

Thank you very much, the link you shared and the VBA code there, helped me and I managed to get my multilevel list back to what it looked like.
I am eternally grateful.

So, from what you say, I understand that this happened not because of something that I did, right ?, but that it is something typical of Microsoft? Just to find out what happened.

If the problem persists later, I will contact support in the same way.

Many thanks.

Greetings from Peru, a big hug.