Need help with formatting in Word

Brass Contributor

I'm a professional fiction book editor. Years ago, I worked for a small publishing company that has since closed its doors. But they had a style sheet all the editors used to keep track of a book's details (character names & descriptions, places, terms, etc). I'm not sure how they formatted it, but I'd love to figure it out. I have a blank one, and it works, so I just continue to save a copy and use it. But in case that ever gets lost, I'd like to figure out how they did it so I can make my own.

One part is easy enough. Each entry is a hanging .01, so when a description wraps to a second line, it's slightly indented. I know how to do that, no problem.

But the other part is the first part of each line (the name and a hyphen (or what turns into a dash because of autocorrect setting) is bold but then it changes to NOT bold. Then when you enter to go to a new line for a new entry, it's back to bold and then NOT bold, and so on.

I can't figure out how to get it to do that. Any ideas? I can send the file if someone needs to look at it themselves. Thanks for any help you can give me!

8 Replies

@JenRar 

First, save this document as a Template to make sure you do not mess it up.

Once you've done that, save a document made from your template and post a link to it here and someone will be able to walk you through any features.

Why a sample file is important for troubleshooting - - - - - - - and how to do it.

@JenRar The attached Style Sheet.zip contains a Style Sheet.dotx template in which a Characters style has been defined with the 0.1 Hanging Indent.  You should save that file in your User Templates folder and then use File>New and select that template when you want to create a new style sheet.

Doug_Robbins_Word_MVP_0-1675466429247.png

To get the name of the character in bold, you will need to select it and then apply the Strong character style to it.