Hidden text is interfering with heading vertical alignment

Copper Contributor

Hello MVPs.

I've been directed here by Microsoft support (Case #:1030349797), it's my first time on the forum, many apologies if I've done anything wrong, and please set me straight.

Using MS Word 365 to create a template:

I have created a linked hidden text style for instructions and dummy text, but when the text is hidden, the text of the heading below is out of vertical alignment with the numbering.

Can anyone help me resolve this please? I can send screenshots to help visualise my issue.

Thank you

Sarah

14 Replies
Yes please, send the screenshot.
I assume it will be connected to styles, but can't say without seeing.

@sarahbonnar 

If you have set the hidden attribute for the heading number, so that it doesn't show up in the document, you can set "Follow number with" to "Nothing" in the Multilevel List dialog box. That may do what you want. 

multilevelListSetNoSpaceAfterNumSymbol.png

@Lenka_Kerumova 

Hi Lenka, and others.

Please find attached screenshots showing the issue.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sarah

@Stefan_Blom 

Hi Stefan

Thank you for your response. The heading styles are not hidden, but the dummy text is.
When I change "Follow number with" from tab character to nothing, I lose the alignment of the heading text, and it has messed with the hidden text as well. It also did not solve the vertical alignment issue between the number and heading text when the dummy text was hidden.

I have attached more screenshots following the change.

Sarah

@sarahbonnar 

I apologize: I misunderstood your question. Just change back the indentation for the multilevel list levels to the appropriate values for your list. 

@sarahbonnar 

Looking at your initial screen shots again, I finally see what you mean. Text does not align with the numbering. I'm repeating your screen shot here with an arrow that emphasizes the differences: 

ScreenCapOfScreenCap.png