Footnotes in Document Comparison

Brass Contributor

I recently encountered this issue and I am hoping someone can point me to a very detailed documentation of how footnotes function in Word.  Here was the problem:

When comparing documents, footnotes at times show as fully removed and then reinserted.  In the modified document a new footnote 1 was added.  This pushes all the other footnotes up by one count.  Most of them showed as they should, with only the old footnote reference being removed and the new number being inserted, but the text of the note showing no changes.  However, a few of them showed up as fully removed and reinserted (so, what was footnote 3 is now 4, but the text is the same so only the number should show changing--but instead the whole note 3 shows as a deletion, and the whole note 4 shows as an insertion).

I want to understand why this would happen.  I took the footnotes.xml file out of the archive to look at it, but I am still learning where that is concerned. I could not identify anything that might cause this problem.  Something about how footnotes are identified/linked to the paragraph that anchors them is the cause--but I don't know anything about how that works.

Does anyone have resources that are detailed I could use to research the footnote function in-depth?

3 Replies
Hello Rich89,
the only (and usual) time I see what you describe is when the deleted/(re)inserted is is actually a field, or when the style changes. Then the text in old style gets "deleted" and "inserted" as if it was a new text.
Might it help to remove the formatting option before doing the comparison?

I was able to replicate the problem by making a document where I add a new footnote 1, forcing what was 1 to 2, deleting the paragraph housing the original footnote, and moving that footnote to a new paragraph where there are no similarities to the original paragraph.  I did this without changing any styles.  I'll attach something here so you can see it.